Definition : Bharat Stage IV
Category : Governmental » Standards
Country/Region : India India
Popularity :

What does BS IV mean?

Bharat Stage IV (BS IV) or Bharat Stage 4 (BS4), is an emission standard. Bharat Stage (BS) norms are emission standards instituted by the Government of India (GoI) to regulate the output of air pollutants from internal combustion engines. BS IV is quite simiar to European Union’s Euro 4. BS IV engines emit less amount of toxic gases than BS III engines.